//
99theories and this is just one
site posts

It’s a sad day for manga fans. Analysis soon.

Mangastream’s JUMP scans have been shut down by VIZ Media, and the manga community is outraged. Plain and simple, this development puts my site and its content at risk. The fact is, I buy all the One Piece volumes when they come out and have even purchased a ton of action figures (sample pic). One Piece, Naruto and Bleach are honestly just such long series that not offering it for free limits the potential market for manga in the U.S. How many of us can say that if manga wasn’t so available, there’s no way we would be fans? The decision is fairly short sighted, but you can’t argue with VIZ Media’s right to do it.

In the next couple days, I will work on I just started my analysis on what I think VIZ Media should do/should have done, from the perspective of a fan and business student. All I know is that they have completely lost control of their fanbase, which isn’t good for any company. PR should have stayed on top of this and offered reason and rationale to the legions of manga fans that feel slighted by their actions. The fact that there is no front page explanation/prepared statement on VIZ’s website seems disrespectful, and I think they’re going to have a hard time convincing people to pay for their services because of it.

Just off the top of my head, the first thing VIZ needs to do is turn off comments on their Facebook, because everyone is venting and making VIZ look terrible. They’ve already made their choice – they have to stick to it. But what they cannot do is not follow through and look like they can’t manage the backlash.

I want to thank the people who have been contributing to my site, and to all you readers who have reached out to me to tell me how much you appreciate my work! I have hopes that we can still get up-to-date scanlations without disrespecting VIZ and the manga business. The truth is, though, that One Piece is so loved that it won’t be too hard to find, even in mangastream’s absence. If someone does eventually fill that void, then VIZ will not have accomplished much of anything, other than raising negative publicity for themselves. It makes me wonder how tapped in to the mind of their consumer they really are. A little bit more research and passion for your product would probably do wonders.

No matter. Life goes on. Have a great day everyone! I’ll continue to update this site as much as possible 🙂 But for now, make sure you check out the analysis I’m doing, which should be completed by the end of tomorrow.

About nanallday

about.me/nLi

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About Onepeacetheory.com

The One Piece Universe is infinitely mysterious and remarkably elegant. Eiichiro Oda has created something really special, and has taken Monkey D. Luffy on an adventure over 10 years in the making. The best part is, they're only halfway!

This site is dedicated to the best and latest One Piece news and theories. Join me in discussing the latest chapters, your latest theories, and raising awareness for the greatest story being told.

Symbols/Format
I'm trying to standardize the formatting for this site, so use this as a general guide for now with hopes that it will all be consistent in the near future :)

// denotes a theory
\\ denotes a question
<-> related, objective facts
--> evidence towards
<-- evidence against

About the Author

A little bit about the author, here!

onetheory: onepeace
Friendship, Integrity & Freedom

